DISARMING ANGER 2.0

Posted: May 5, 2010 in Emotions
Tags:

THE COST OF ANGER 

Jesus said in Matthew 5:22, “But I say, if you are angry with someone, you are subject to judgment! If you call someone an idiot, you are in danger of being brought before the high council. And if you curse someone, you are in danger of the fires of hell.” 

Anger has consequences.  When we are angry, we become subject to judgment.  This might be judgment in our relationships.  It may mean more than that.  Our anger may cause us to get fired or even in trouble with the law.  It ultimately will get us in trouble with God.  Ephesians 4:26-27 says, “Don’t sin by letting anger gain control over you.…for anger gives a mighty foothold to the Devil.” 

Will Rogers once said, “When you fly off the handle you always have a bad landing.”  You always lose when you lose your temper.  You lose the respect of other people.  You may lose the love of people you love most.  You may lose the love of your children if you get angry at them too often.  You may lose the love of your husband or your wife.  You may lose your job due to an uncontrolled temper.  Certainly if you mishandle anger, you can lose your health.  When you say, “That person is a pain,” you’re probably right.  When you stuff your anger it can cause headaches, stomach aches, backaches, neck aches, and all kinds and variety of problems.  You always lose when you lose your temper. 

Nothing destroys a relationship faster than unrestrained anger.  Listen to what the Proverbs say about anger.  Proverbs 29:22 says, “A hot tempered man gets into all kinds of trouble.”  I’m sure we could hear some pretty funny stories about how we get into trouble with our anger. 

How many of us can say, “ I know from experience the truth of Proverbs 15:18, ‘Hot tempers cause arguments.’” 

How many of us know this is true:  “Anger causes mistakes.” (Proverbs 14:29) 

How about this – Proverbs 14:7: “People with hot tempers do foolish things.”  I’ll never forget the time that I broke down a closet door in anger in a house I lived in while I was in college.  But a broken doorframe was there for a while to remind me that people with hot tempers do foolish things.  Don’t judge me!  Your stories are probably as bad as mine.  You can email them to me if you would like to console me.

Ultimately, the price tag was too high for me to continue giving into my angry outbursts.  I was just unwilling to infect my children with my sin.  That’s right; I said it: SIN.  Deal with it.  The cost of anger was much too high a price for me to pay.

Leave a Reply

